Duke’s branching out

As I was walking through the bean and canned tomato aisle at WalMart this past weekend, I picked up a can of Busch’s Black Beans… and wondered what I could make with them.

Your taste buds change over time and currently, I’m a fan of black beans (and buffalo type/spicy sauces).  I turned the can over and voila, there was a recipe on the back!  I made it this weekend and it’s a keeper! (Or it wouldn’t be featured here.) :]

Busch’s Traditional Rice and Beans – serves 6-7 as a side

via

What to gather:

1 tablespoon olive oil

3/4 cup finely chopped onion

1/2 cup finely chopped green pepper

1 cup diced tomatoes

1 (15 ounce) can BUSH’S® Black Beans, drain and reserve juices

1/2 teaspoon thyme

1 teaspoon garlic salt

3 tablespoons cider vinegar

1/2 teaspoon hot pepper sauce

2 cups cooked rice

What to do:

In large skillet heat olive oil; cook onion and green pepper until crisp tender.

Stir in tomatoes, beans, thyme and garlic salt, cook 3 minutes.

Add vinegar, pepper sauce, and reserved juices continue to cook 5 minutes.

Serve over rice.

Notes: I only had white wine vinegar, so I used roughly 2 1/2 T of that instead of the above, as it was all I had left.  I also guestimated on all measurments that weren’t liquid, and more than doubled the hot sauce because 1) I only had Frank’s Red Hot and it’s a little more mild than, say, Sriracha (spell?), and 2.) See above, I’m liking spicer foods these days.

One thing I’ve learned about cooking is that it’s not baking (seriously).  You can guess sometimes and its probably not going to be ruined… such is the case here.  Super filling… good for you… and delicious!

2 thoughts on “Duke’s branching out

Leave a Reply

