Adventures with Quinoa

Yes, my friends, I’ve decided to jump on the “health foods” bandwagon and give it a shot.  (I’m even taking the journey into making my own bread, but that post is coming later on.)  I have to say, from where I sit, the only downside is that little guy up there… is that it’s $5.99 at Rainbow Foods, and it was the cheaper of the two choices I had.  But nevertheless… it’s good for you (I think).

From what I hear, it’s gluten free, high in the good fats, whole wheat and packed with protein.  So here we go.

Tonight I made:

Carrot, Tomato and Spinach Quinoa Pilaf (original found on allrecipes.com)

What to Gather:

2 teaspoons olive oil

1/2 onion, chopped

1 cup quinoa

2 cups water

2 chicken flavored bouillon cubes

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon thyme

1 carrot, chopped

1 tomato, chopped

1 cup baby spinach

What to do:

Heat the olive oil in a sauce pan over medium heat; cook and stir the onion in the hot oil until translucent, about 5 minutes. Lower the heat, stir in quinoa, and toast, stirring constantly, for 2 minutes. Stir in the water, bouillon granules, black pepper, and thyme; raise heat to high and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer for 5 minutes.  Stir in the carrots. Cover and simmer until all water is absorbed, about 10 more minutes.

Turn off the heat, add the tomatoes and spinach, and stir until the spinach is wilted and the tomatoes have given off their moisture, about 2 minutes.

I just eyeballed the measurements because I’m getting savvy like that ;].  (It turned out just fine.)  The verdict?  It’s good… like real good.  A keeper!

Leave a Reply

