Farfalle!

I’ve been trying to be more of a “cook,” in general.  I love simple comfort foods (pb&j, mashed potatoes and gravy, soup…) nothing really that takes a ton of prep.  And, when you’re single and without kids, it would be super easy to fall into the pattern of just having these types of foods every.single.day.  However… I really enjoy cooking – and eating!  So I’ve been trying to make it a point to cook a little for myself sometimes too.

Pinterest has been an awesome source for this of course, and I follow a few cooking blogs myself.

The following recipe (which I’m writing below with the changes I made because of what I had in my fridge) originally comes from Ramshackle Glam – which is is one of my favorite, read regularly, blogs.

So… here you go!  (The original recipe can be found here.)

“Crack” Pasta!  (Because, I’m told it’s addicting…) ;]

Ready to serve!

What to gather:

1 small onion, finely diced

3-4 strips bacon, diced

a sprinkle of garlic powder

3/4 cup white wine

1 large can crushed tomatoes

1 box pasta (I used Bowtie/Farfalle)

1 package frozen peas

1/4 cup half and half

What to do:

Chop the onion and cut up the raw bacon strips, cook together in a large skillet until the bacon is crispy.  Halfway through this process, add the garlic powder.

Once the bacon is done, add the white wine and turn the heat up to high (if it’s not already).  Let the wine cook down a little, or until you can’t smell the alcohol anymore.  Then add the tomatoes and season with anything else red-sauce-esque that you like to add* and turn the heat down to medium to simmer about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

While thats happening, cook your pasta, and also the peas – each in their own pots (I just took the frozen peas, put em in a pot, covered with water and cooked over medium high until tender).  Drain both and set aside.

Once the sauce has simmered, add the half and half, and toss all three (sauce, pasta, peas) together.

Grab the rest of that bottle of white, and enjoy! :]

The plated product

*I’m part Italian, and my family has a passed down red sauce recipe, so I felt I had to add a few things here.  I have no idea if they made a difference in this recipe, but I added a few sprinkles of Basil and Oregano.  My palate just isn’t that sophisticated, and it probably would have tasted the same to me had I not added these, but who knows!

My verdict?  It was good!  I don’t know that I’d go so far as to say it’s addicting enough to be called “crack” pasta, but I’m unable to come up with another name, so that works for me, for now.  But again, to my starred snipet above, I may be biased on what really really good pasta sauce should taste like.  I’m not the biggest fan of peas, but they weren’t too obtrusive.  I do think I could have done with less though.  If you don’t like em, I’d suggest toning them down a bit, maybe to half the package.

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

