Motivation anyone?

This happens to me all to often!  I get started on something, and then about, eh, a month (?) later, start to get tired of it… or to describe it better… lose the enthusiasm that pushed me along in the beginning.  I was determined, and still am, to not let this happen with running – it’s a lifestyle change after all.  And, it’s been a goal of mine for so long…

But it’s hard, man.

The 10 mile race that I’m training for is a mere 3 months and 4 days away, and I really can’t afford to lose the hutszpa that I started with.  As I’ve mentioned previously, I have a training plan that will “get me there” on the day of the race as long as I start it by the end of this month.  To start that plan I need to be able to comfortably run 2 miles – so of course, the goal is higher at 3.  These past week I’ve been averaging a run every other or every 2 days.  It’s time to amp it back up.

I also need to start working out in the morning… the actual race is at 7:09am, and so it’d probably be a good idea to start running in the morning.  However, I work 8am-5pm every day, at an office about 25 minutes from my house.  To be able to do this I would need to get up around 5:00am.  And I’ll be honest, when I wake up, I’m not only groggy, but also dizzy, and in a bit of pain (back, neck, head, etc).  I’ve had the ambition to get up and work out in the morning many many times, and have never once accomplished it.

But I need to.

Here’s my newest plan:

M-Th: Make lunch for work the night before – and be asleep by 11:00pm at the latest, wake up at 5:00am, to the gym by 5:30am (or out the door, depending on the weather/season), back home by 6:30am*, showered and ready to go by 7:15am, and out the door.

F: Rest

Sa-Su: Get up 2 hours earlier than necessary on one of these days, hit the gym or the roads for an hour, and then resume my planned activities.

*I wonder, if due to my slow pace, an hour will be enough gym time once I work my way up to more than simply the 2 mile mark I’m just about at?  I suppose I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it!  I’m also hoping that by waking at 5:00am, and giving myself a half hour to get out the door, that maybe I won’t be so headachey… we’ll see.

I REALLY REALLY would like this to work.  Does it seem doable?

What do you use as workout motivation?

One thought on “Motivation anyone?

  1. I have a group of friends that help motivate me and telling people I am going to run a Half marathon or 10 k will make it impossible for me to drop out and stop. I am not a morning perso so waking up at 5 would never work for me but just telling yourself that you cant not work out.

Leave a Reply

