My unplanned off day

You ever have one of those days where you start doing something, and you just know that it’s not going to turn out like you’d like?  For example, as you’re driving to your gym, you realize that you feel lethargic and weak… however you’re on your way, so you go anyway.  Well, today was one of those days for me.

Since my previous run totaled at 1.62 miles (my record, yay!), I was hoping to get at least that far again.  However, given the previous paragraph – and thats how I was feeling – I made it a mile and then stopped and walked until reaching roughly 1.5 miles.  I don’t exactly have a training plan for the 10 mile, yet, but am trying to comfortably get to 3.0 by the end of July in order to start my Hal Higdon’s Training Plan in time to complete the race on 10/7.

So today was an off day.  Just a mere month ago, I would have considered an “off day” skipping the gym all together and making friends with my couch and the DVR.  I feel as though I’ve come far that “just a mile” is now considered my off day. 🙂

2 thoughts on “My unplanned off day

  1. Good for you! “Just a mile” definitely counts as a prime achievement in my book. Then again, the last time I went running was New Years and I bailed on my boyfriend after about 15 minutes to stand on the side of the road and do yoga instead. Happy blogging and good luck!

  2. Pingback: Hey… you cold? « Snipets from a Non-runner…

Leave a Reply

